Italian Honeymoon – Ravello Adventure – Part 3

Catch up on KA’s honeymoon here

After our visit to Villa Cimbrone, we decided to hit the [long] road. Instead of going back the way we came, we were headed down the front of the cliff on a road that eventually splits and goes left to Minori and right to Amalfi. I’ve heard it is 10,000 steps from Ravello back down to the sea, and I believe it. It already felt like a million at the point when I looked up and took this photo of the underside of the Terrace of Infinity:

where we started - belvedere at villa cimbrone

Where we started – the belvedere at Villa Cimbrone.

Well, I wanted the scenic and adventurous route and we sure got it! There was not a tourist to be seen on the path straight down the mountain, despite glimpses of several scenic guesthouses. Instead lemon orchards, several barking dogs, nodding farmer, and the growing glow of the streetlights lined our way down, down, down…

Down the mountain in daylight...

Down the mountain in daylight…

There was a point, demonstrated in the center photo of the collage below, where I seriously wanted to give up. Going up stairs may be physical torture, but coming down was mental and emotional agony. The constant task of “don’t fall, don’t fall” as the sky grew dimmer and it began to feel as though one misstep would lead directly into the sea, wore me down. It wasn’t until we hit the magical light of the alleys of Castiglione di Ravello (and that adorable little kitty), that I began to enjoy myself again. I couldn’t bring myself to get lost exploring the moonlit labyrinth the way I wanted to, but I could manage to follow the signs home to Atrani.

Down the mountain by moonlight...

Down the mountain by moonlight…

At this point, it became too dark for either of us to take decent photos, so I’ll just say that we followed the [thankfully wide] path along the cliff below the main road, past much random junk and obvious teenage make-out points, until finally home sweet Atrani came into view…

Blurry, beautiful Atrani at night.

Blurry, beautiful Atrani at night.

