MADAGASCAR – PART 7 – NOCTURNAL WALK

Madagascar journey continued from Madagascar Part 6

One of the activities that Anjajavy L’Hotel plans is a night walk to see the nocturnal species in the region.  I was very excited for this as I really wanted to see some adorable mouse lemurs.  The walk was less abount mouse lemurs and more about things that would freak you out if they were in your backyard.  We went on this walk with the other couple that was staying on the property and we all at one point got a little spooked either by the sounds we heard or the creatures we saw.    Thankfully we did not see any of these scary things near our villa or the restaurant.  We had to walk a ways before we encountered the things that went bump in the night.

Tiger Centipede, Scolopendra polymorpha. Photo by Aimee DiAndrea

Tiger Centipede, Scolopendra polymorpha. 

Within a few minutes of walking with our guide Max and the other couple, we came across this Centipede, which I thought was pretty, but was told by Max that if we had open toed shoes on it would be dangerous because it was “toxic”.  I snapped the photo and kept walking.

Madagascar Bees

Madagascar Bees

I have an irrational fear of bees.  When we saw these hanging, everyone thought how pretty they were and asked what they were in which Max replied “toxic bee” . I couldn’t move away any faster.  A little while later into the walk, we went off the trail to try and spot some lemurs, and when we did, some bugs started to fly at my face since I had my headlamp on, and when I started swatting them away, Max looked at me and asked “Bees?” to which I started flailing like crazy and threw my headlamp 10 feet away.  turns out it was a moth.

Chemin des Crabes

Chemin des Crabes

Hairy-footed land crab. Photo by Aimee DiAndrea

Hairy-footed land crab. 

These crabs were everywhere to the point where you had to be sure not to step on them.  I was not as afraid of these guys as one of our other hiking mates.  I loved the blue color on their shells.

Madagascar Beetle

Madagascar Beetle

I refer to most of these extremely large bugs as beetles, but I have no idea what they are or what their scientific name is.

Madagascar Shiny bug

Madagascar Shiny bug

I also dont think shiny bug is a scientific name, but I’ll go with it here.

Mating Beetles

Mating Beetles

Large Beetle on Dave's Shirt

Large Beetle on Dave’s Shirt

This guy landed on Dave’s shirt and no one wanted to get it off.  We all took pictures while he kept trying to flick it off and it wouldn’t budge.  Max, our guide, had to pry it off him.

Chameleon

Chameleon

This was one of the non spooky things we spotted, I love the colors on this chameleon.

Frog

Frog. 

Madagascar Spider

Madagascar Spider.

Madagascar Hissing Cockroach

Madagascar Hissing Cockroach

Anjajavy Mouse Lemur

Anjajavy Mouse Lemur. 

Finally, after an evening of walking we spotted some adorable Mouse Lemurs. I don’t know how I would have ever seen these little guys if it wasn’t for Max pointing them out.  He could spot things like no one else.

Stay tuned for more wildlife in Anjajavy in Part 8…

